Public Works Administration

Ken Cook
Public Works Director
kcook@astoria.or.us  
503-338-5177
 

Cindy Maynard
Administrative Assistant
cmaynard@astoria.or.us  
503-338-5177


Engineering

Jeff Harrington, P.E.
City Engineer
jharrington@astoria.or.us  
503-338-5173


Misty Moore
Engineering Secretary
mmoore@astoria.or.us  
503-338-5173


Nathan Crater, P.E.
Assistant City Engineer
ncrater@astoria.or.us  
503-338-5173
 

Cindy Moore, P.E.
City Support Engineer
cmoore@astoria.or.us  
503-338-5173

Dean Zeisbrich 
Senior Engineering Technician 
dzeisbrich@astoria.or.us
503-338-5173

Steve Ruggles 
Engineering Technician 
sruggles@astoria.or.us
503-338-5173

Shelley Kirby 
GIS/CAD Technician
skirby@astoria.or.us 
503-338-5173


Operations

Ken Nelson
Public Works Superintendent
knelson@astoria.or.us  
503-325-3524


Jim Hatcher
Public Works Assistant Superintendent
jhatcher@astoria.or.us  
503-325-3524


Stacy Sundquist
Administrative Assistant
ssundquist@astoria.or.us  
503-325-3524
         

Operations

Public Works Operations is divided into 6 Divisions
 
Shop and Yard Division: Overall administration of Operations, daily reports, meter records, purchasing and receiving of all parts and equipment for fleet maintenance and infrastructure. Fleet maintenance of close to 400 pieces of City owned equipment and vehicles. Operate and maintain the fueling facility for City equipment.

Streets Division: Street sweeping, pothole patching, roadside mowing, crosswalk and directional arrow delineation, street sign maintenance, snow plow/sanding and de-icing of streets.

Sanitation Division: Monitoring of the former Landfill site.

Sewer Division: Operate and maintain the Collection and Treatment facilities of sanitary sewer. There are over 68 miles of pipe, more than 1,600 manholes, 2 major pump stations, 3 lift stations and several smaller pump stations that convey combined sewer to the Wastewater Treatment Facility. At the Wastewater Treatment Facility, the sewerage is then aerated, chlorinated, dechlorinated and discharged to the Columbia River in accordance to State regulations.

Storm Water Division: Operate and Maintain all catch basins, inlets and facilities that convey and store storm water.

Water Division: Operate and maintain a 3,700 acre watershed, slow sand filter treatment facility, 12 mile transmission water line, 2 covered reservoirs, 4002 water meters, 443 fire hydrants and over 80 miles of water line from 1” to 18”. Manage the backflow program for over 600 backflow devices.

 


Public Works Administration

Ken Cook
Public Works Director
kcook@astoria.or.us  
503-338-5177
 

Cindy Maynard
Administrative Assistant
cmaynard@astoria.or.us  
503-338-5177


Engineering

Jeff Harrington, P.E.
City Engineer
jharrington@astoria.or.us  
503-338-5173


Misty Moore
Engineering Secretary
mmoore@astoria.or.us  
503-338-5173


Nathan Crater, P.E.
Assistant City Engineer
ncrater@astoria.or.us  
503-338-5173
 

Cindy Moore, P.E.
City Support Engineer
cmoore@astoria.or.us  
503-338-5173

Dean Zeisbrich 
Senior Engineering Technician 
dzeisbrich@astoria.or.us
503-338-5173

Steve Ruggles 
Engineering Technician 
sruggles@astoria.or.us
503-338-5173

Shelley Kirby 
GIS/CAD Technician
skirby@astoria.or.us 
503-338-5173


Operations

Ken Nelson
Public Works Superintendent
knelson@astoria.or.us  
503-325-3524


Jim Hatcher
Public Works Assistant Superintendent
jhatcher@astoria.or.us  
503-325-3524


Stacy Sundquist
Administrative Assistant
ssundquist@astoria.or.us  
503-325-3524