Planning Commission

The seven-member Commission reviews conditional uses, variances, amendments, zone changes, and other land use permits. It is the Commission's duty to maintain the Comprehensive Plan, Development Code, and Zoning Map of the City, which are required under the State-Wide Planning Goals. In addition, the Commission serves as an advisory board to the City Council concerning the future development of the City. Members serve four-year terms and are appointed by the Mayor.

The Planning Commission decisions can be appealed to the City Council.

Commission Members:

Sean Fitzpatrick, President
Daryl Moore, VP
Jennifer Cameron-Lattek
Brookley Henri
Patrick Corcoran
Cindy Price
Chris Womack


Regular meetings are held on the 4th Tuesday of each month at 6:30 p.m., in the City Hall Council Chambers, 1095 Duane Street. Work sessions are held periodically following Commission meetings.

Meeting notices and agendas are posted on the Planning Commission site. Minutes from the meetings can be found on the minutes link. A calendar of meeting dates and applications due dates can be found on the Department web site.


Complete applications are due to the City by the 20th of the month prior to the meeting. A pre-application meeting with the Planner is required. It is recommended that applications be submitted prior to the 20th of the month to assure that that application is complete. Click here to Apply.  


To determine zoning on a property, go to the City's GIS map or contact the Planning Division. Staff can assist with information and resources concerning land use zoning, flood zones, geologic hazards, and site development requirements and limitations.

Historic Landmarks Commission Contact:

City Planner / Project Manager
1095 Duane Street
Astoria OR 97103